First days in New-Zealand - Reisverslag uit Queenstown, Nieuw Zeeland van leonstoker - WaarBenJij.nu First days in New-Zealand - Reisverslag uit Queenstown, Nieuw Zeeland van leonstoker - WaarBenJij.nu

First days in New-Zealand

Door: Léon

Blijf op de hoogte en volg

24 April 2015 | Nieuw Zeeland, Queenstown

So, I arrived on monday evening in Queenstown, where I met Jim. Jim is the principal of Limehills school, where I'm also doing my internship. On tuesday I slept in, because of my jetlag. I woke up in the middle of the night and got woken up by José at noon and she took me to Limehills school. When we got there, the teacher who's class I'm in was waiting for me. She's called Kirsty and she's really nice. She introduced me to the kids and we opened the envelope that Liesbeth (my old elementary teacher) gave me so that the kids of my old elementary can become pen palls with the Limehills kids. They all got a pen pall and we started writing letters for me to take back to Holland. The next day, the kids were getting more used to having me around and they all wanted me to come play with them in the break. They thought me how to play rippa rugby and I thought them football (which they call soccer). Rippa rugby is a game played a lot by Kiwi (New-Zealand) kids and it works a little different from regular rugby. Basically, you're wearing a band around your waist with strips stuck to it on both sides. You run with the ball, but when a player from the opposite teams rips your strip off, you have to pass the ball and at six rips the ball goes to the other team. It's a fun game, but they play lots of other games as well. Most of the kids at Limehills are very sporty and play two sports. Hockey, cricket and rugby are the three main sports played over here. Yesterday we did a lot of things for ANZAC (Australia New-Zealand Army Corps) day, which is quite a big deal here, because they're remembering the soldiers who died for them at Gallipoli during the first world war. We watched a programme about it and I taught them about the war in France and what we learn about WWI. Today we made poppies, which are the flowers that are said to gave grown from the blood of the fallen. They wrote on the back what they are grateful for together with the line, lest we forget. After they made the poppies we went to a memorial together with the rest of the school and were silent for a minute. Tomorrow is actual ANZAC day, so I'm going to dawn (a service early in the morning) together with Kirsty. After that she'll take me sightseeing around the lake together with her two daughter Macey and Sophie. I've been invited by some of the kids father for a (some Maori word I forgot), which means getting drunk and going duckshooting the next morning. Next week I'll be training together with one of the kids brothers, since they have a gym at their house and go to Invercargill. I'm also planning to go dear hunting and next weekend I'll probably be going bungeejumping in Queenstown, which should be fun.

  • 24 April 2015 - 10:01

    Hanneke:

    Wauw Leon, wat klinkt dat goed zeg. Harstikke leuk om te lezen!!! Morgen skypen!

  • 24 April 2015 - 15:25

    Anke:

    bungeejumpen !!! brrrr Ik vier liever de verjaardag van Hanneke!

  • 24 April 2015 - 21:21

    Liesbeth:

    Hé Leon,

    Erg leuk om je verslag te lezen. Ik heb geen kans meer gehad om je persoonlijk een goede reis en fijne tijd toe te wensen, maar zo te lezen ben je al bijna ingeburgerd. Ik zie voor me hoe het gaat en ben stiekem wel een beetje jaloers;-).
    Ik blijf je blog lekker volgen. Doe iedereen de hartelijke groeten van me en geniet van alle aanbiedingen!!! Mooier ga je het niet meer meemaken (denk ik)!

    Groetjes Liesbeth

  • 24 April 2015 - 22:51

    Mario:

    Hey lieverd je bent goed bezig en je vermaakt je wel. Allemaal leuke en goede dingen, sportief, uitdagend, sociaal en jagen....Word een beetje jaloers gewoon. Je moet de groetjes hebben en dikke kussen van opa en oma en de rest van de familie. Liefs papaX

  • 25 April 2015 - 11:01

    Anje:

    Cool zeg! Ik hoop voor je vriendin wel dat je niet te actief gaat dear hunten ;)

  • 27 April 2015 - 02:48

    Trieu:

    Zeker vet ! Bungeejumpen veel plezier man

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Nieuw Zeeland, Queenstown

Mijn eerste reis

Recente Reisverslagen:

04 Mei 2015

Duck shooting

29 April 2015

Caving and Milford Sounds

24 April 2015

First days in New-Zealand

21 April 2015

Road to New-Zealand

Actief sinds 21 April 2015
Verslag gelezen: 245
Totaal aantal bezoekers 2916

Voorgaande reizen:

21 April 2015 - 31 December 2015

Mijn eerste reis

Landen bezocht: